Considering EndevourOS, some before questions I would love to know before installation

Hello,

I wouldn’t say I’m new to Linux (been using it the last three years, mainly Manjaro Minimal KDE, but I’ve also been on POP!_OS), but I’m definitly still a complete newbie.

My reason for leaving Windows is mainly all the bloat stuff. I can’t stand having 400 extra apps and such I never wanted (or installed). The second one is privacy concerns.

Questions

1. Is there something similar to a minimum install? So I get everything I need from the base packages and such (e.g. like system settings, network drivers, etc.), but maybe not stuff like Kate and such that I never use? From the videos I have seen the online installer seems to do something like I want. Would just like to confirm. :slight_smile:
  2. I haven’t managed to find a privacy policy for the distro, only for the website. Does EndevourOS collect any data from me while using the OS?
  3. How is it to set up for gaming? Stuff like Steam (using proton), and lutris, etc. On Manjaro I have run into some small problems with Lutris, so I assume I would run into the same ones, would like to hear if someone else has experience with this. :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for the help and have a good day/night and stay safe!

PS. I am comfortable with terminal for installing, removing apps, etc. I have so far never used the GUI for pamac or the pop-shop. :slight_smile: If that makes a difference.

// AtBios

2 Likes

A warm welcome AtBios, and many thanks for trying EndeavourOS! I’m going to try to answer your questions as best as I can. I’m no expert on the OS - all I can tell you is my experience.

In answer to #1: Yes there is. When you get to the screen that has what desktop you would like installed, you can select or deselect whatever you want.