Building a community Edition

I am Interesting in Learning how to contribute with an i3 community edition, maybe can someone point me where do I find the source code for the sway community edition, I am hopping to get some clues from it…

I have look around the github and haven’t found anything, also I was navigating inside the .iso for footprints about community and the welcome screen that has the community edition install options is playing hide and seek with me because I haven’t find the code that is using… I mean I am not a professional at this, I use Linux as a hobbie and would love to turn it into a carrier in the future and a challenge like this one may tech me a good deal of everything.

I love desing, I am teaching my self some programming, sysadmin and my end goal is in the cybersec industry “someday”. I would really appreciate some help on how to get started, links to docs, source code, examples etc…

Anything really.

Its great to have a change to contribute to a project like this one.

Cheers.

2 Likes

Welcome to the community :partying_face:

1 Like

Hi and welcome to the community :slight_smile:

i3 already exist , maybe you can choose some other WM ?

2 Likes

Github :wink:

Welcome to the forum @pegromdev !

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum! :enos_flag: :wave:

i3 offering already exists at this repo

You can send pull requests to suggest changes or additions.

For community editions, the following repos hold them

We now ship them as packages. You don’t need to worry about integration with installer. Just add the configs and a pkgbuild.

There are two in-development ones. They are more or less ready, but aren’t yet offered with installer. You can help by testing them, or submitting pull requests

You can also work on a new wm altogether if you wish to. Do discuss on the forum before you start. There are some basic guidelines we follow with the Gtk theme, defaults, etc.

Indeed :wink:

3 Likes