Asus Tuf A15 2021 Ryzen 7 5800H + Nvidia 3060 keyboard backlight control

Hello everyone,

after pulling out my hairs for many weeks now on getting the keyboard backlight control to work on EndeavourOS (not only EndeavourOS tbh) and not finding any working solution i decided to ask for some help in the forum.

I’m on KDE DE running Linux 5.14.10.arch1-1.

Not seeking for spoon feeding but more looking for directions and suggestions on where to look to solve this issue. Still a Linux noob here and coming from Windows environment however made the decision to step away from windows. Searching the Wiki’s and also googling as crazy haven’t brought any solutions and this keyboard Christmas tree is driving me nuts. I purchased this laptop mainly for the hardware and am not a gamer.

Hope you guys don’t mind me asking for some help on this as for the most of you this will be childsplay for sure. Many thanks in advance for tips and hints!!

Btw EndavourOS is really super!! Love it!! Many thanks to the devs for this distro!!

Can you run systemctl --failed | eos-sendlog and post the link. Also sudo dmesg | eos-sendlog

systemctl log https://clbin.com/6PMEp

dmesg log https://clbin.com/T1hxI

first log doesn’t show too much

1 Like

I see in the grub command line the following.

[    0.000000] Command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/@/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=2789d65a-e1ab-40ea-89c9-221047c0993c rw rootflags=subvol=@ quiet acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor quiet resume=UUID=ec8d6d84-b858-40f1-81ea-bce96ba068a3 loglevel=3 nowatchdog acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor

Did you add the acpi kernel parameters? Some are listed twice too?

Look for rogauracore on github; that works for me on the Rog strix 3 Asus.

yes i added acpi_backlight=vendor to grub command after some recommendation found online but that didn’t do anything. Should i delete it again? Will check also as i only added it once as i remember.