Wireplumber and pipewire-media-session are in conflict

Hello all

I am a Linux newbie.

Been on Windows all my life from Win 95 to Win 11.

I usually manage to get by solving my Linux issues such as upgrading and basic configuration.

I am however, unable to resolve the ‘wireplumber and pipewire-media-session are in conflict’

I have removed pipewire from my system; even run the command to disable it.

I am still unable to update my system with the error:

error: unresolvable package conflicts detected
error: failed to prepare transaction (conflicting dependencies)
:: wireplumber and pipewire-media-session are in conflict

How can I resolve this please?

Thank you and kind regards

Prime

You should no longer need pipewire-media-session, go ahead and remove it and install wireplumber in it’s place. It’s newer and going to be the solution for pipewire going forward.

As an aside, why remove pipewire from your machine? It’s definitely an improvement over pulse at this point. Far more usability at this point, and IMO the bluetooth performance is leagues better.

2 Likes

Hello timiller76

Thank you for your response.

My issues lies in the fact that there is a conflict being displayed even after I removed ‘pipewire’ - well at least I believe I did.

I still cannot upgrade my system which is the main issue for me.

How do I check that I have indeed removed pipewire and then resolved the upgrade system issue?

Thank you

If your intention is to switch away from pipewire to pulseaudio, please have a look at:

https://discovery.endeavouros.com/audio/pulseaudio/2021/12/

Thank you pebcak

Actually I still have audit on my system.

My main issue is the system is refusing to update to the next version of Endeavour.

:: Starting full system upgrade…
resolving dependencies…
looking for conflicting packages…
error: unresolvable package conflicts detected
error: failed to prepare transaction (conflicting dependencies)
:: wireplumber and pipewire-media-session are in conflict