Virt Manager vms not starting

No one of my vms starts up correctly, i use virt-manager to manage it, when i start a vm, the screen show “Guest has not initialized the display (yet)”. Is the same behavior with all the vms, the last time i ran it was working well, i have no clue whats going wrong? Some advices?
I dont know how to debug it, i cant find a way to start the vm from command line
Thanks

I never used virt-manager before, but maybe you can try if it works with virtualbox, to maybe isolate the issue to virt-manager

Is this a recent phenomenon, or did it just start? Has virt-manager ever worked? I use it all day with a wide mixture of VMs and it’s never failed like what you’re describing.

How did you create your VMs? How did you install qemu?

I’ve been using virt-manager for several years and never had a problem, now none of my vm’s start, I’ve tried creating a new vm and the new one works but the old ones don’t. I hadn’t used vm for a few weeks so I don’t know exactly when they stopped working. But it always worked fine before.

I have installed qemu from pacman, classic procedure

I ran into a similar problem with my VMs that use GPU pass-through after the edk2-armvirt and edk2-ovmf packages were upgraded to version 202208-3. Downgrading to 202208-1 fixed it. If your VMs are using UEFI, then this might be your problem.

I already tried with edk2-ovmf downgrade, but didn’t restart the host, I tried but nothing changed, I don’t use any passtrough anyway

I had downgraded with version 202208-3 and not 202208-1, now it works. I was close to the solution but I was just wrong. Thank you

I would try rebooting, just to see if the downgrade required it. If that doesn’t help, try starting a VM with virsh then monitor the libvirtd and virtlogd services to see what’s failing.

Now works fine, but what is wrong with ovmf?

That I can’t tell you; downgrading the aforementioned packages was just a lucky guess on my part. I haven’t see any info related to this.