USB mouse not working on laptop

So,i am new to Linux just joined Linux last week.i have tried both manjaro and endeavour os.And so far i am liking EOS.

but I am having issues when i use my usb mouse. its fine first of all when i boot up.but if i cloose the lid or it goes to lock mode after a time the mouse stops working.the mouse simply does not detect

i am using eos (gnome on xorg)(X11) on an Hp241g1(4gb ram) laptop.the mouse is connected to a usb 2.0 port i have tried all 3 ports.
mouse-logitech m90 wired mouse

1 Like

Welcome to the forum! Have you ruled out some power saving option in the UEFI (BIOS) configuration? Is it just the mouse or everything connected via USB?

i havent tried anything else
i will try andd tell in a min
and tell me more about uefi settings please?

When you boot your computer, while the HP logo is displayed (before GRUB gets loaded), you can enter the BIOS setup by pressing some key. It’s specific to your motherboard, but it’s probably one of the following: Del, F10, Esc, F2, Tab…

There you can look for power saving options that turn off USB, ACPI options, stuff like that… It’s specific to your motherboard, so I don’t know exactly what option to look for. Don’t touch anything having to do with date and time, overclocking (CPU frequencies), and booting.

TLP? As the laptop is going to sleep :thinking:

there were no such options

yes

Try tlpui and play with the settings - it is in AUR:

i even disabled usb auto spend nothing worked
(also read edit)

Update- there are 3 ports 2 of which are usb 3.0 and 1 is 2.0
when the 3.0 port works for mouse 2.0 doesnt and when when 2.0 works 3.0 doesnt

Does it start working if you un plug/re plug it?

no it doesnt

To enter Bios start laptop and quickly press esc key and then pressing F10 key.

You may be able to turn off usb autosuspend. You could try and see if it works by adding a kernel parameter in the default grub command line and updating grub.

usbcore.autosuspend=-1
1 Like