USB deactivates when laptop charger is unplugged

Hello everyone,

I’m brand new to EndeavourOS but have some prior experience from Ubuntu. I’ve completed a fresh install of Endeavour, and have encountered a problem with USB port availability.

My problem is that my laptop’s USB ports are only operational when the computer is charging. Unplugging the charger results in the ports being deactivated, and re-plugging it in does not restore them. Rebooting does.

Eliminated possible causes: This isn’t a hardware issue, because other OS’s on the same computer do not have a similar problem. The problem applies to all USB devices – including low-power ones, so this does not appear to stem from some sort of power management strategy.

I’ve posted the full log from dmesg here, but the most relevant section seems to be:

[Sun Oct 3 15:55:11 2021] xhci_hcd 0000:03:00.3: WARNING: Host System Error

The output of lsusb is unchanged (and correct) regardless of whether or not the ports are working.

I’ve done some searching and found a few other posts here & elsewhere relating xhci_hcd & USB problems, but none seem to be quite the same as what I’m experiencing here.

I’d really appreciate any input that might steer me in the right direction! Thanks for reading. :slight_smile:

Do you have TLP installed? Because that’s my first thought as a possible culprit. If you do have TLP installed, you may try to uninstall it and see if this issue still persists.

2 Likes

Wow, thanks @Scotty_Trees – you’re a wizard! Uninstalling TLP seems to have done the trick. Thank you so much!!

1 Like