Tmpfs instead of swapfile

Hi!
I am an old newbie here.
I have been using Endeavour OS last few weeks and I like it!
A couple of years ago I came to the conclusion that “vanilla” Arch takes more time than I have. Then I found Archlabs, and I like that very much but the mirrors for their repo are too slow (50k at the most) for me up here in North Scandinavia!
EOS is working very well and less then 10 min to install!
I had som troubles installing on an old mac-mini 4,1 (mid 2010) but I found an Ubuntu-tweak to make it work! Nouveau is difficult on my mac-mini.
Now I am writing from a HP-ProBook 640 G1 and it is very compatible with linux!

Question:

I see in fstab tmpfs. Is that acting as swapspace instead of swapfile/swap partition?

brandent

I am not sure you should be seeing it in /etc/fstab. At least, I don’t have it in my EOS install. Are you sure you didn’t see it somewhere else like df or mount?

No, tmpfs is used to mount a filesystem in memory. This is typically done to create a small filesystem which can be read/written rapidly.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Tmpfs

1 Like

Ah now I know what it is! Itś Firefox on tmpfs!
Then it would probably be a good idea to create a swapfile here!

Thanks for answer and support!

brandent

1 Like

@dalto, I installed Endeavour from the May ISO a couple of days ago. The installer did indeed add a tmpfs line to my fstab…

tmpfs             /tmp           tmpfs   defaults,noatime,mode=1777 0 0

I did not install with a swap partition, though I later created a swapfile and added that to fstab, but that is a separate line.

Huh, interesting. I recently re-installed off the latest ISO. I wonder why mine is different. Perhaps it depends on the options you choose.

I wonder if it does that if you DON’T have a swap. It did not add it to mine, but I have a swap - however little it gets used…