The best Linux distro for newbies and average users is EndeavourOS

You do not hear that EndeavourOS is suitable for newbie users quite too often. The reason is that EnOS is based on Arch that is considered as out of newbie competence.

But let me explain. I am a newbie/average user, and I found many distros’ recommendations very misleading. In a hope to eliminate this situation and help newbie Linux users, I wrote this post with my experience of choosing and using some Linux distros. Of course, this is the only one-person experience, but you can compare my use case with yours, read comments on this post, and choose the best one for you. Nethereless, I believe that EnOS is the best choice for newbie/average users for Linux, so let me continue.

My use case

Browsing, Media consumption (music, movies), Media creation (screen recording, video creation), Office (docs, tables, notes, calendar), Mailing, Messaging (all kinds of messagers), Conferencing (Video, Screen sharing), Learning (English, programming, courses), basic Drawing, basic Coding.

I need all of these to be solid and reliable as I use my laptop for my work. I do not want too much hustle with errors and maintenance.

So I need everything as an average user except gaming. I am not a prominent expert in gaming, so I cannot say if EnOS is suitable for gamers. At least MineTest for my kids is working well.

Before switching to Linux, I was a Windows user. I only wanted to try Linux because of the bloatedness of new Windows distros. Since Windows 8, there have been an increasing amount of preinstalled unremovable apps.

If your use case is similar to mine, I believe it is worth reading further.

My mistakes in choosing the best Linux distro

I did this:

1. Googled “the best Linux distro for a newbie.”
  2. Watched videos from recommended YouTube channels about Linux.
  3. Answered questions in DistroChooser.