Terminal shell tweaks: zsh!

I have used a couple of standard terminal emulators on a regular basis including xfce terminal, gnome terminal and Konsole. However, I see many nice tweaks for example changing how the home displays, auto suggestions for commands or other nifty tweaks, which together make it look better or add functionality. I haven’t gone much beyond trying alacritty as alternative and installing neofetch.

What are your favorite tweaks? package name, instructions and/or screenshot are welcome :grin:

Edit: @Kresimir mentioned zsh, I think that is the shell to do this. What tweaks do you guys have for total newbie?!

Zsh

It’s not really a “terminal tweak”, but a shell. However, it makes all those things you mention possible within any terminal emulator. Though, to be fair, you can do most of these things with only Bash, at least on a rudimentary level.

3 Likes

I will have to try that one!

Just installed zsh. Looks like there are tons of options. How do you generally use it, typing zsh in terminal or load automatically to replace bash?

Total new universe opens to me. I also heard about fish but never had time to look all these things up.

Edit: found that sudo chsh s /bin/zsh could be used to replace bash. But not ready to commit yet, need to try first.

I also installed zsh-syntax-highlighting but need to figure out how to activate. :nerd_face:

Edit 2: ok changed the title, since zsh fits the bill and seems to narrow down a bit.

Add this to your .zshrc, somewhere towards the bottom (ideally, should be last, just before custom colours):

source /usr/share/zsh/plugins/zsh-syntax-highlighting/zsh-syntax-highlighting.zsh

Here is how you can customise colours:

Also, you don’t need to chsh to use Zsh, it’s enough to start the terminal emulator with it.