Systemd-boot? because I still only want 1 partition!

ok I’ve just been reading up but I’m still confused
At the moment I have a single ext4 partition which is ‘old fashioned’ dos mbr boot…
I could use UEFI with my hardware but I don’t want to have a second partition! This ‘new style boot’ isn’t that new when you additionally need an ESP partition formatted with ‘olde worlde’ FAT32 is it!? :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:
So to be a ‘totally modern guy’ can I change my config so that I get rid of grub, and have systemd-boot or bootctl and/or some sort of efistub on the single ext4 partition?
Thanks!

try it first out VM :slight_smile:
i use my self systemd-boot, totaly hide it from boot… it not someting automatical using bootctl. dit install was MSDATA something on /boot/efi was a pain with bootctl, had changed to ef(and something) totaly blindly but didnt removed the grub directly so i came in after it…

after it worked i removed grub when i was sure… im not a efi expert just followed a link, but with bootctl --path=/boot/efi but depends i think how it setup ?

this is my fdisk:

ringo@Konoha ~ % sudo fdisk -l /dev/sda
Schijf /dev/sda: 238,49 GiB, 256060514304 bytes, 500118192 sectoren
Disk model: SSDPR-CX400-256
Eenheid: sectoren van 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sectorgrootte (logisch/fysiek): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
In-/uitvoergrootte (minimaal/optimaal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Schijflabeltype: gpt
Schijf-ID: 18BCEDA1-F225-4C43-81F4-CCB8579B9C8F

Apparaat Begin Einde Sectoren Grootte Type
/dev/sda1 34 1026047 1026014 501M EFI-systeem
/dev/sda2 1026048 500118158 499092111 238G Linux bestandssysteem

yeah 500 is a bit overdone… im a bit overdone :slight_smile:

converting from MBR to GPT and also installing you have to watch out make sure things are installed ,like all efi related stuf that might needed.

1 Like

I don’t think 500 is overdone for EFI. I think it is the better. IMHO

1 Like