Steam - How to mount additional drive

Hello, I hope someone can help me because I’m stuck mounting a drive and adding it to my steam library.

The drive in question is empty and formatted with “ext4”.

Here is what I already did, please feel free to “correct” me if something that I did was wrong.

I added this line to /etc/fstab:
UUID=20c4240e-9c2f-4dd3-b2e9-1ac64eaf330a /mnt/EVO850 ext4 defaults,user 0 2

After that I gave the the mount point the following permissions:
chown -R shamshiel /mnt/EVO850

Then I ran
mount -a

Now if I try to add this drive as a library-source for Steam I get the following error:
New Steam library folder must be on a filesystem mounted with execute permissions

Can someone help me what the best way would be to mount this drive? I just want to use it as a normal drive like my root drive and be able to use it for Steam.

Would really appreciate some help here as I’m still new to Linux/Arch/EndeavourOS.

Can you check the mount options and permissions for the device with e,g,

mount | grep EVO750
ls -al /mnt/EVO850

Here the results of the two commands:

mount | grep EVO850
/dev/sdb1 on /mnt/EVO850 type ext4 (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user)

ls -al /mnt/EVO850
total 28
drwxr-xr-x 4 shamshiel root 4096 1. Okt 15:10 .
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 1. Okt 13:50 …
drwx------ 2 shamshiel root 16384 1. Okt 13:41 lost+found
drwxr-xr-x 3 shamshiel shamshiel 4096 1. Okt 14:19 SteamLibrary

Welcome to the purple :enos: side of Linux.

So actually you just want to mount a drive and use it as your steam library which is nothing to do with steam.

Before adding the mount to your fstab you should have mounted it manually then added it to fstab. So you’re sure it works.

First off make a mount point in your system it could be in your /mnt, /run/media, or /home. Let’s take /mnt (hope you have this folder physically in your / partition) because you already used that.