Specs for new Linux machine running Endeavour OS

I’m relatively new to Linux, even more new to EOS and brand new to the forums. Just want to say first that I love this distro. It really hits the sweet spot for me in leaving enough alone to be customised, without making you build everything from scratch. Thanks to the devs for what they’ve produced.

I’m currently running this on my laptop only, while my desktop is still Windows. I want to replace the desktop with a new one, as it’s ageing, and want to start over with Linux/EOS on the new machine. I’m probably going to get a custom-build, as I have a company I’ve used before who I really like.

In looking into specs, I’ve been warned about going too high-end for a Linux machine, in case the bleeding edge hardware isn’t supported. I was hoping someone might be able to advise me here on what I should look for or, more particularly, anything I should avoid in a new spec.

My preferred high-level specs for any machine would be: small form factor, quiet, able to run some games (mostly 4X, nothing action-based), and future-proof for a few years to come. I’d also like to get a new ultrawide monitor to share between this new PC and my work laptop, so that’s a consideration.

Apologies for the slightly open-ended post/question. I hope someone will be able to offer a direction to go in (or avoid). I hope I’ve posted in the appropriate forum.

EDIT: My budget is up to GBP2000 but that would include the monitor as well.

1 Like

Usually hardware recommendations get outdated quickly, that’s why a forum is not the ideal place to ask such a question.

Just to mention it, I am very happy with my new desktop (Ryzen 9 5900X, Radeon RX 6700/6700 XT, ASRock X570 Taichi, 32 GB RAM).

With AMD typically everything works on Linux, as long as the hardware is a few months old.

3 Likes

Welcome to the community :beers: