[SOLVED] No luck with install on multi-boot system

I just tried to install (offline) and got no where. It all appeared to have worked according to the feedback, but the only tangible result is that it killed my actual Arch install :slight_smile:

I was unable to find anywhere to exactly specify an EFI boot partition, which may be the source of the problem, but whether it wasn’t there, or just unreadable due to tiny fonts (on 3840X2160 screen) I am not sure. Any suggestions? I think I can recover the Arch install after this works (still have working Arcolinux, MX 19, Xubuntu) - I usually use rEFInd for booting anyway.

Freebird

Hi - I’m new to EndeavourOS and the calamares installer (but not to Linux), so others will be able to give you better feedback, but I thought I’d mention that the installer will pop up a message window if no EFI boot partition is specified during the partitioning phase. But in some situations it will auto-select an existing EFI partition if it finds one, and gives you a message about that, too, though not in a separate window.
One way to specify the EFI partition is to go to the manual partition section, select the partition, edit its mount point to /boot/efi and set its boot flag.

1 Like

Yeah - that is what I was expecting - but there was no place to specify efi anywhere in the installer - which is weird because in a previous troublesome install (arcolinux and MX 19) with Calamares, I ended up having to set the bios to allow only EFI boot attempts (which then forced the esp flag to show up to be chosen. No show here though, and yes, I got the no efi warning - and went back 3 times trying to find something to set to efi!

I guess I should retry again - maybe (though it isn’t obvious) if the installer is on a live session, I can hit a scaling option so I can see what I’m doing… :slight_smile:

Freebird

Hello @freebird54