Shalom and Hello

Hello from Europe and the lovely port town of Hamburg in Germany.
My name is Alexander (or Ari in Hebrew) or I use online in short Alex.

I am currently a manjaro home user interested in similar arch based and my A.I. found EndeavousOS.

I work as a data scientist in an R&D Institute, my specialization in data science is ML/AI/DataViz/BigData. At work I use Fedora Workstation and that will probably not change after 10 years.

I left windosw back in 2007 for MacOS, was happy with MacOS until 201 and my full Linux switch.
I am 99% committed to Linux and FOSS (maybe 1% BSD and 1% steam and non FOSS games).
I am Linux user for 10 years, on my home PC I tried almost all of them debian/ubuntu, linux mint, elementary, popos, gentoo, suse, for my home PC I prefer easy to use arch cause of AUR.
I want to find a long term solution (at the moment using manjaro, without a definitive decision).
I never to the change or time to try Antergos, so endeavouros is sort of my second change.

I am interested to read more about Endeavour OS, how close it is to FOSS, any info links are welcome.
I prefer to use gnome and KDE as second option for my arm phone tablet etc, so is their a core DE or official desktop environment like GNOME and others are community editions or spins like in Fedora.

I already spoke with few people in element/matrix riot im and I can see this is a great community.

EDIT: if I select nation flat in discourse in the setup, it just shows the flag on the profile or is it a Hebrew localization setup on the entire site (first time I see a national flag part on a discourse forum).

Regards, Alex

1 Like

welcome

2 Likes

@AstraAdria4Ari

ComplicatedWildKitten-small

2 Likes

Welcome aboard! :smile:

I believe you’ll enjoy your time here. And please, don’t hesitate to ask if you encounter any issues.
EndeavourOS is closer to Arch, because we are using Arch repos directly (unlike Manjaro as far as I know).

2 Likes