Screen Scaling issue in VM

hello everyone.

So I am having this issue running EndeavourOS in my Virtualbox.
Everything worked fine in the xfce -live mode before installation. After booting into the installed system (KDE) for the first time, the resolution was way too small. When I try to rescale (both KDE system settings and xrandr in terminal), it scales correctly for about half a second and goes back to the small scale immediately after. (I tried to upload a gif, but the file is too big…)

The command I used:
xrandr --output Virtual1 --mode 1920x1080

I also tried rebooting, having the VM in both window mode and full screen, and forcing a resolution via the VM settings - the OS does not seem to care.

Any suggestions to fix this? I am a total newbie to both VirtualBox and Endeavour, so noob-friendly answers will be appreciated :slight_smile:

What are you using for the graphics settings on virtualbox?

Edit: I will give you an exact way to use virtual-box for the resolution set up.

On host you need packages:

• virtualbox
  • virtualbox-ext-oracle
  • virtualbox-host-dkms
  • linux-headers
  • (if linux-lts, then also linux-lts-headers)

On guest you need:

• virtualbox-guest-utils
  • enable the vboxservice systemd service

There are numerous settings for the graphics controller under display. I used to use VBoxSVGA with 3D checked. Now mostly i use VMSVGA with 3D checked. It never used to work properly before but now does for most installs. The trick is with virtualbox normally is to set the resolution the same as your monitor and it will auto adjust when it loads to the proper sizing to fit the window leaving your Host task bar viewable. I don’t normally run virtualbox in full screen mode. So I have KDE installed in virtual-box and I’m running it on EndeavourOS KDE as the host.