Running printer drivers and software in Wine

I have a dual boot system where I’ll switch to Windows 10 to do print jobs on my Brother printer | scanner.
Since I really have little use for Win10 other than printing and using my Photoshop 6.0 suite, so I’d like to ditch W10 and not have to dual boot anymore. I haven’t used Wine in years, was wondering if a printer’s proprietary software could be successfully run in the Wine environment.

I’m not experienced with Wine but it might work I think there is a way to install drivers. But if you only use Windows to Ph 6 and print stuff why don’t you try a Windows virtual machine. Connect the printer to your VM install your Ps in there and you can use it like your dual-booted Windows without leaving Linux.

2 Likes

Excellent suggestion, I had doing a VM in the back of my mind, as an alternative.

most brother printers will also just run fine on Linux natively.
Brother provides drivers for Cups on Linux.

I had run this printer natively at one time with Debian, but something broke, and the printer would just print gibberish on each and every last sheet of paper in the tray. :face_with_diagonal_mouth:

Edit: I should give the Linux drivers a go, however the Brother support site only has driver packages for .deb and .rpm based Linux systems.

yea what model ? there will be a driver build in AUR or you may not need one at all, and can use driverless option from cups

1 Like

I think most brother stuff is supported by the Linux kernel. Correct me if I’m wrong.

1 Like

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/brother-hll2395dw/

1 Like

not the kernel but cups :wink:
and most newer brother printers simply do not need a driver at all.

1 Like

Ah … ok either way it just works :stuck_out_tongue: .

1 Like

OK, good stuff…when I get back home I’ll tinker with that system and get going native!