Running Linux on OLD Hardware

Just a few thoughts on running Linux on rather old machines…

I’ve been using various Linux distros for 20+ years. It continues to amaze me how well Linux runs on old PCs/laptops. Especially in 2024 with a plethora of old hardware available. As an intermediate Linux user over the years, I would have thought that the older the hardware the more likely a problem may arise. But I’ve found that while that can be true, it’s not necessarily the rule.

I ran Linux Mint on an old 2nd gen HP Envy 14 from 2011 for a bit more that 2 years, without issues, until the laptop finally died. I’m currently running EOS KDE Plasma 6 (Wayland session) on a 10 year old Mac Mini. Respectable, but highly dated specs. I initially thought that a machine designed specifically for MacOS might not play nice with any Linux distro. It would seem I was mistaken. EOS has been buttery smooth and super fast since I installed it more than 2 months ago.

• I assumed that dated Apple specs from 2014 might be an issue, but I was wrong.
  • I assumed that this 10 year old Broadcom/Apple wireless driver would be a hurdle, but I was wrong.
[wombat64@endeavour ~]$ inxi -Na
Network:
  Device-1: Broadcom BCM4360 802.11ac Dual Band Wireless Network Adapter
    vendor: Apple driver: wl v: kernel modules: bcma pcie: gen: 1
    speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 14e4:43a0 class-ID: 0280
  Device-2: Broadcom NetXtreme BCM57766 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe driver: tg3
    v: kernel pcie: gen: 1 speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 port: N/A bus-ID: 03:00.0
    chip-ID: 14e4:1686 class-ID: 0200
[wombat64@endeavour ~]$

I guess the bottom line is that this is just one of the many reasons to love Linux. While PC/laptop specs and age should definitely be a consideration when searching for a Linux distro, it seems there will almost always be at least a few distros that will run on almost any machine.

6 Likes