Questions about Endeavour

Hello everybody!

I’ve used Endeavour on a virtual machine and I like it a lot. I’m thinking of switching to Endeavour but I have a few questions.

First of all, I’ve been using Linux for about 6 months now and I know how to solve simple problems. Unfortunately, due to upcoming exams, I can’t spend a lot of time on problems that might take a long time to solve (at least for the next 4 months).

Questions:
1- Is there a possibility that I can make the system unusable with a simple system update? Or am I likely to break the system by changing a “not so important” setting?
Manjaro seems a bit more stable in terms of stability, but I am hesitant to switch to it due to past events
(I may be exaggerating the “instability of Arch”).

2- I have never used an arch-based distribution in the long run.
Are there a lot of technical details that I need to grasp to get used to? Or are these things that I won’t find difficult with my basic and intermediate knowledge?

3- And how long does it usually take to get this ‘technical knowledge’ experience? I can spare 1-2 hours a day just for endeavour (I might be exaggerating since I haven’t used an Arch-based distro for a long time).

Anything is possible.

IMO This is more likely to break your system than an update.

It’s less stable historically.

Follow my guide or the wiki for maintenance, and you’ll be fine.

Depends on you. Everyone is different. I can teach my dog how to Julienne a carrot before a lot of people can learn linux. It just depends on the person. If you’ve made it this far, you’re probably fine.

3 Likes

If the stability of the system is your priority, I would suggest not making any system-wide tweaks if you don’t have a compelling reason to.

Just install the system with the desktop environment of your choice. Configure your desktop and use your system normally.

Keep things simple and if you would need to make any system-wide configuration, you could always ask the forum first.