Plasma Question: Can konsole be replaced with another terminal?

I’m seriously exploring plasma for the first time and there are a lot of things I like. However, I’m not crazy about konsole. I stipulate that I have no experience using konsole and it might grow on me but I really like qterminal. If I were to do a minimal installation of plasma, can I replace konsole with qterminal without breaking anything? Worst case I can just use qterminal and ignore konsole but I’m trying to stay as minimal as possible and not install a lot of things I know I won’t use. I’m still trying to fully understand recent forum discussion of the best minimal install for plasma which was very informative for me and I say thank you to everyone who posted there.

Background to this: the last time I looked at a KDE desktop was probably 7 or 8 years ago when I was still new to linux and KDE was not intuitive for me at that point so I ended up on XFCE. Now, I’m trying to move away from XFCE and trying to learn how to tweak Plasma to my liking. This looks like a long journey but I think it will be worth it.

A big kudos to plasma for power management. It works flawlessly on my newer ThinkPad. Color me very impressed.

Thanks in advance.

You can uninstall konsole and set a different default terminal in system settings.

That being said, konsole is superior to qterminal in almost every way. I say that as someone who rarely believes that anything is objectively better or best. konsole is very configurable. Whatever you like about qterminal, konsole can probably be setup that way.

However, if you want to change it out. The default applications settings look like this under applications in system settings:

1 Like

I really like the new battery charging parameters that can be set. I love it.

Dalto, when you tell me something is “better” I will sit up and listen because I have seen over and over your objectivity and I really appreciate it.