Pacman cache not clearing

my disc storage analyzer app used to say that my pacman cache directory was 8GB. It seemed kinda weird to me, since I configured the EOS welcome utility app to automatically clean it each week. I thought - perhaps it’s because that same tool is configured to keep 3 latest versions of packages? But that was the default amount, so I didn’t change it.
I decided to run paccache -r and paccache -ruk0 in order to try to clean the cache. It only reduced to 7.5GB. I asked the EOS people about this… one of them recommended me to reduce the amount of stored versions of packages to 1. That… did nothing. It just refuses to reduce the cache any further.

anyone know what’s this about? :thinking:

perhaps I should be cleaning yay’s cache instead? I usually always use yay to update my system. I don’t know, I’m not experienced in this…

How old is your system? If you have a lot of packages, even one version might take a lot of space. The best thing to do is look in the directory and see what is there

I installed my system in 10.23 or 11.23, so it’s about half a year old.
I have 1332 pacman packages and 30 flatpaks.
there’s a ton of archives and .sig files in the directory, so… I’m not sure what exactly to look for.

err… nevermind all of this.
weirdly enough, I just checked the disc analyzer app again, and it says my cache is 3GB.
I remember checking it RIGHT AFTER I ran the cache cleaning command. And, when I did that (which was a few days go), it was 7.5GB. :face_with_raised_eyebrow:
oh well. I’m sorry for the false alarm I guess.
I mean, 3GB pacman cache is not abnormal, right?

1 Like

Mine it is 60GB so it seems small to me :rofl:

2 Likes

0_0
I mean…
it was an experienced arch user and an EOS forum regular (namely fbodymechanic), who told me that 8GB seems like too much for a pacman cache.
so… perhaps you’ve got some cache issues too? :smiling_face_with_tear:
unless you just never clear it?