Nvidia PCIE Card and iGPU on CPU used together

Moderation Note

Moved from here:

Hi! Just a very, very new user chiming in here!

I had a similar problem over the last few days, though I’m on a desktop, not a laptop.

My system was hanging when starting up:

• black screen on both monitors
  • then GRUB MENU (without any actual menu options) on monitor-0 and
  • the usual POST-like info on monitor-1 (not sure if that’s actually POST output; I’m very new to linux outside of a PuTTY terminal and WSL)
  • Then a single cursor underline on monitor-1, and a weird glitchy line under GRUB MENU on monitor-0.
  • This would hang again for long enough to make me feel like it was going to freeze there
  • but then monitor-0 would smarten up and I’d get the log-in screen.

The single cursor underline persisted on monitor-1 though and xrandr wasn’t recognizing monitor-1 at all.

I tried a bunch of troubleshooting from various sources, spent a whole day reading all kinds of forums, nvidia docs, X11 docs, intel docs, etc. but found no one with exactly the same situation and no solutions. I scoured my whole file system and read every log & config file that looked like it might have anything to do with GPU/displays/monitors/whatever.

I finally settled on trying a bunch of frankenstein xorg .config files, pieced together to resemble a few examples from Arch wiki and nvidia docs related to somewhat similar scenarios.

BUT before copying them all into the proper directory, I made a copy of /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf and removed the original, then rebooted.

Lo and behold, monitor-1 suddenly worked! Everything seems okay now (I think).

So, getting rid of /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf was all I had to do, it seems.
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Learned a lot along the way at least!

2 Likes

I think probably because you have multi monitor otherwise it probably wouldn’t have affected it. But i think this file isn’t needed and is causing some issues. Glad you were able to resolve it.