Newbie here

Happy holidays guys.

After being 10+ years being a windows user, I finally decieded to switch to Linux distro.

I first installed Endavour on my laptop so that I can get familiar with new the new OS before complete migration. I was wondering which desktop would be the best choice. I prefer a little bit of challenge where I can go away from the GUI friendly windows and be more terminal dependant

Once again happy holidays!

6 Likes

Welcome to the forum, and the Linux world!

KDE Plasma. It’s the most customisable. You can make it very GUI centred (by default it is quite windoze-like), but also terminal centred.

Also, it comes with the best terminal emulator in existence: Konsole, and the best text editor: Kate.

3 Likes

Welcome to EndeavourOS!!
:enos_flag: :rocketa_purple:

Just explore your system slowly and get used to linux. There are some things familiar to windows and some things that are different.
Your experiences will also wildly vary on the Desktop Environment you installed. If you provide more details we can give you tips regarding that.

EndeavourOS is also the first linux distro I’ve used on hardware, coming from Windows myself too. But I had 2-3 months of experience using Ubuntu Linux on WSL which made my transition to Linux easier.

2 Likes

i will just say " Welcome + hope you enjoy Endeavouros "

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum!
ComplicatedWildKitten-small

3 Likes

i wish i saw this reply 5 minutes earlier, cause I already chose Gnome haha. I guess I can always switch to KDE plasma whenver

Oh I know I will

Welcome to the forum

1 Like

scream_72

2 Likes

There is a high probability now that the user might return to windows :rofl:

1 Like

I have 2 weeks of holidays before uni starts again, which is why I chose to migrate to an Arch linux variant OS now so that I can get used to the new OS before i’m stuck with tedious assignments