New to the community

Hi, I am new to the community and I have basic experience with Linux. I have a few questions to ask before I try this distro out.

• Is this distro rolling based release?
  • Is there anything unique about this distro compared to other distros out there?
  • Is KDE plasma designed differently compared to the default version of KDE?
  • Does it send telemetry data or anonymous data to the team, if so is it possible to disable this?
  • Can I do a full disk encryption for the partition that I install it in?
  • Can I easily change kernel from Linux to Linux-zen?

welcome, the distro is based on archlinux, no, it is archlinux with xfce4 the installer calamares, no; “you are not windows or macOS” yes you can change kernel but mano

1 Like

Cool thanks for your help, but can you do a full disk encryption though?

yes, calamares can do it

1 Like

I can run calamres during the installation, right?

when you make your installation: you can choose different options

1 Like

Welcome.
Basically, you get an OS that is almost pure Arch linux. The installer ensures quick installation of the system in GUI mode. On the home page of the project probably you find the information you need.

It depends mainly on what you are guided by when choosing an OS. Since this distro is based on Arch, its advantages certainly include speed.
Currently, EOS is delivered with XFCE 4.14. In autumn, developers plan to release online-installer, in which you can make a choice during installation from 10 different DE’s. Nothing prevents you from removing XFCE and installing suitable DE e.g. after installing the system. Plasma is the same as in the official repos of Arch.

Rather it doesn’t send, but if you run Wireshark, you’ll probably learn everything :wink:

1 Like

Oh nice that is pretty good.

That is good to know and that is something I certainly want.

What does EOS mean?

That is pretty cool.

Thanks for letting me know :slight_smile: