Nemo Lag/slow

Hello fellow endeavouros users,

i havent found a topic on this so i hoped id find a solution to this.

Nemo file manager as great as it is has a huge problem of becoming slow/laggy with many thumbnails in a directory.

Is there a way to possibly make nemo more responsive without disabling thumbnails?
There was a solution in the mint forums but alas it being ubundu based it didnt really help me much.

First of all, I’m no nemo expert, so the following stuff may not be accurate. :sweat_smile:

This is the nemo developer’s issues site: https://github.com/linuxmint/nemo/issues

Maybe some of the threads could be of help?
Or you could start a new thread there about the problem.

But according to the threads there it seems to be a constant issue with nemo… disabling thumbnails and some extensions might help.

thanks i tried going through their issues but other than https://github.com/linuxmint/nemo/issues/2291
there wasnt really anything and even in there they only solution was a new version which is out for quite a while now.

i dont have any additional extensions but the 4 defaults ones tho i have now disabled 2 of them.

As a workaround, maybe another file manager like thunar could help?

im using caja as a backup, tho the only thing that really irks me about it is how its closing tabs, it appears to open the last active or open tab.

if i could set it to always open the tab to the right like nemo it would probably be my daily driver.

Are you running Nemo on Cinnamon or another desktop?

i am running nemo on cinnamon
i actually had this problem in all instances i have used it so far, cinnamon, xfce, kde, distro also doesnt make a difference, eventually with enough time an open tab slows down to a crawl.

the said directory sometimes has as little as a dozen up to several hundred thumbails to deal with, but i dont think the constant in and out makes a difference.