Learning the Command Line, tricks, tips or tools to remember?

I’ve been using Linux since before 2000, starting with Mandriva, Gentoo and progressing my way through Suse, Ubuntu, Antergos and now Endeavour. For as long as I have used Linux I am continually frustrated by my inability to become very proficient on the command line. Some things I remember like running updates because I do it often enough but other things liking adding a user, changing their password or group access I just can’t remember for the life of me (I just don’t do it enough). I constantly have to Google “how to add a user in linux” so I can figure out what the right command is. Even something as simple as finding a log file I’m constantly scratching my head trying to figure out how to properly do it. Although I usually get to where I need to go, I always feel like I “cheated” a little to get there and wish I wouldn’t always have to reference websites.

Are there others in the community like me that have used Linux for years but struggle to remember even basic commands?. Are there any suggested resources or tools to help on the command line?

1 Like

As far as I’m concerned Google is a great gateway to reference material and how-tos. Before google I always had 6 or 7 reference manuals and a notebook full of cheatsheets on my desk. Besides there is usually more than one way to achieve the same result and Google searches many times provide alternatives. I don’t try to remember everything and Zim has become my new notebook. I record all system mods and many helpful hints/how-tos in Zim.

1 Like

Command line does have some nice tricks, like

• bash command completion (assuming you use bash)
  • man pages
  • command history using arrow keys

and more.

For the user, command completion is about hitting the Tab while writing a command. Tab key can fill up many things, like the command name, options, file and directory names. So, less writing and correct names.