Launching Davinci Resolve

Hi Guys:

Diligently working on my transition to Linux from MacOS (and Windows too). My daily driver is now EndeavorOS Atlantis on an older system (AMD Phemon II processor with 24 GB ram). My broadcasting studio uses some hardware and various software that is unfortunately no available in any OSS catagory. I have been using Linux (professionally and personally) for over 21 years.

I started working with Blackmagic Design Davinci Resolve and installed it via directions found online for Arch Linux. It installed successfully, but when executing the program I get the following error:

usr/bin/progl: line 30: 2626 Illegal instruction (core dumped) “$@”

if launched from Desktop it does nothing, but checking from terminal the command used was:

progl /opt/resolve/bin/resolve

I am not sure how to satisfy this command and could use help.

The guide I followed was at the following URL:

https://forum.techhut.tv/t/how-to-install-davinci-resolve-in-linux-ubuntu-arch-and-fedora/43

I also consulted the Arch Wiki entry as well.

Hope someone can help resolve this.

Thanks,
Michael

1 Like

Sounds like it wasn’t compiled right for your system hardware.
Try this:
https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=87681
You may have more luck posting on their forums as well. Here’s some more:
https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/search.php?keywords=linux+illegal+instruction&fid%

1 Like

Hello: thank you for your response. Alas the suggestions are appreciated. The BMD forum posts you cited are too old. I am not sure, but I am sure others are struggling with these issues. I thank you for this, however since Arch or any distro derived from Arch is not officially supported, BMD seems to ignore these inquiries.

Thanks again and I suppose as a last resort I will post my stuff on their forum. Still hope someone here can help.

BTW: I am really glad they are making the effort to support Linux at all!

1 Like