Launching Android Studio

Hi, I’ve recently changed from gnome-shell to swaywm and I cant launch android-studio from the menu. If I open a terminal I can launch android-studio just fine, but not from mod+d menu

Any thoughts ?

Thanks

p.s Love EndeavourOS :wink:

just installed it but i have no idea how to use it. It does launch from the terminal and from mod+d. I’m just not sure what to do with it? :smile: I’ve never used it before.

I’ve used it in the past, but only for creating virtual phones to run apps on; basically an Android VM. It’s basically an Android-only subset of Jetbrain’s IntelliJ IDEA IDE.

What does the menu item contain? From my previous install, all the exec line shows is android-studio %f.

It just comes up like this.

Screenshot_20220222_220629

Edit: I just tried in on vmware to see if it would launch.

Edit: I’m installing the git version to see.

Edit3: Don’t think there’s enough space so it failed to install. :thinking:

@JCC
I see what you mean. Maybe someone from the community editions can help you. I don’t think it’s launching the terminal along with it when running it from mod+d menu or some other issue. It does seem to work from the terminal. I really wouldn’t know how to use it. :man_shrugging:

Welcome to forum @JCC ! :rocket: :enos_flag:

Java applets may have issues with Sway.

See this section from SwayWM wiki :

Basically, you append this to your ~/.profile

if [ "$XDG_SESSION_DESKTOP" = "sway" ] ; then
    export _JAVA_AWT_WM_NONREPARENTING=1
fi

Relevant issue :

@ricklinux if you haven’t deleted that VM, could you try running android studio with this command :

QT_QPA_PLATFORM=xcb _JAVA_AWT_WM_NONREPARENTING=1 android-studio
2 Likes

Thanks for the welcome @flyingcakes

I tried your suggestion and no luck. Not a big drama as i’m using vscode as my main application, just using android-studio to create the emulator.

The other question therefore would be how to configure in the sway config for the emulator to float ?