Kernel isn’t updating / python dependencies?

Three days ago, Screenfetch (Which kind of hardware do you use with EndeavourOS?) said …
… OS: Arch Linux
… Kernel: x86_64 Linux 5.4.4-arch1-1
This is not the current status.

Is it possible that this is related to certain dependencies associated with Python? There is already a thread (Conflict python2-pyqt5 etc. during update) that I have read about this. But every case is different. And as a Linux beginner I don’t want to destroy my working EOS by rashly configuring or deleting something. Here the messages after the last pacman -Syu:

[ws@endeavouros ~]$ pacman -Syu
[sudo] password for ws: 
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
 multilib is up to date
 endeavouros is up to date
:: Starting full system upgrade...
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...
:: python-pyqt5 and pyqt5-common are in conflict. Remove pyqt5-common? [y/N] y
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: installing xorgproto (2019.2-2) breaks dependency 'xf86dgaproto' required by libxxf86dga
[ws@endeavouros ~]$ 

Thanks

This looks exactly like an issue back in December. How long ago did you do an update? This should have been resolved.

Please see this instruction from Arch in december:
https://www.archlinux.org/news/xorg-cleanup-requires-manual-intervention/

Please follow the instructions precisely.

Also here is some more info from these very forums:

edit: bottom link corrected. Sorry.

2 Likes

we can understand that on tested pcs, we can have update delays, but on pcs that you use every day, you have to update and consult https://www.archlinux.org/

1 Like

Yeah, that’s it! Hello @Beardedgeek72 and thanks! It’s really a great community here. Even as a beginner you always get good advice.

The update took more than half an hour. But now my kernel is hopefully up to date (x86_64 Linux 5.4.15-arch1-1).

1 Like