Just installed EndeavourOS; chose KDE, then no KDE. :(

Hi everyone! Hope you’re all having a nice life! :slight_smile:

I just installed EndeavourOS, I used endeavouros-2021.04.17-x86_64.iso. I’m not exactly new to Linux, nor I’m an expert but any means, though I can manage to solve most issues when they arise. Like I said, I just installed the OS, in Calamares I chose KDE, yet upon reboot KDE is nowhere to be seen. If I run startx “something” does start, but I’m not sure what that is; just three terminal windows, it appears to be some tiling WM. Also, I ran into a few issues when installing, this is a UEFI machine and the pkg efibootmgr was not installed, so the installation process wouldn’t complete. I had to reboot since I couldn’t umount the partition, launch xfce4-terminal, mount the partition to /mnt, arch-chroot and pacman -S efibootmgr and only then endeavour got “successfully” installed. I chose KDE, however, I didn’t see in the terminal output any KDE pkgs, only base, base-devel pkgs, so yeah, upon reboot no sddm, no kde, nada. I tried installing plasma, but I got not Internet connection since wireless-tools isn’t installed either, and no, no wired connection available. I’m writing this from another OS(it is a multiboot system) and would like to know how to solve this, or is it the only way booting the Live USB, mount the partition, arch-chroot and pacman -S plasma? I searched the forum and found this Minimum installation of plasma KDE - #15 by dalto which I don’t get because the title reads minimum installation of KDE yet it lists a bunch of no KDE stuff. Any help/advice is much appreciated. Thanks in advance for your answers.

That wasn’t really successful. The installer failed in the middle. That is why all the packages are missing.

That is a way but why not just reinstall? You will be missing a lot of stuff beyond just plasma. You probably don’t have any of the eos packages, networking packages, etc.