It's not just Arch having problems with Grub

3 Likes

Arch isn’t having trouble. Arch USERS are having trouble because they aren’t using grub the way the Arch devs want you to (which seems to be “never”). :clown_face:

Kidding/snarkiness aside, yeah, I figure anyone grabbing that new code too quick will have some issues. I never thought I’d need to consider having a redundant bootloader on my system but I guess it’s not a bad thing these days.

I’m actually worried about my production Rocky Linux systems though. Might have to block any grub2 updates on my production boxes for the indeterminate future

2 Likes

Over the past few days since this Grub issue, I have been boot loader hopping several times… systemd-loader, rEFInd, Grub, and back and forth… several times.

Though I am not a techie… what I have been reading… (though Grub was perfect since long time and even after this issue and fixing it because it supports booting BTRFS to sanapshots) I just recently had a feeling… worried… anxiety perhaps… so I just 2 hours ago changed to systemd-boot. I feel a bit safe as it is simpler.

In case something happens I believe there is a way to live boot, install BTRFS Assitant, restore…

Worst case scenario… I think I will have access to my home folder (from live session) and not lose my data.

I feel a bit better now!
Just my personal feelings and preferences, not recommending anything for or against any boot loader!

1 Like

Thank you @r0ckhopper for the links.

I still don’t get the panic and the bootloader hoping… Once we fixed/updated grub (one time fix) there is no persistent problem on updates. :upside_down_face:

Can fedora use any of the fixes we use? I mean it’s the same bootloader. Looks like it’s a two line of terminal commands fix.

1 Like