Intro and Question :)

Hello all!

I wanted to introduce myself, I’ve dabbled off and on with Linux over 20 years basically installing and checking how feasibile / user friendly it would be to use a daily driver/replacement. Over the years my time was spent with openSUSE/Slack/Ubuntu/Mandrake, more so with the green Chameleon than the others.

I am by no means an expert - not even intermediate, not a beginner but somewhere in between - I am a pretty quick learner. I migrated fully to linux about a month ago using openSUSE (love it) and was experimenting with various distros through VM. Tried Arch - it was definitely interesting but I honestly was not a fan of the installation method, their Discord/Reddit/Forums are a bit hit or miss interms of friendliness (RTFM etc) which essentially drove me away from it. The Wiki while good in most aspects generally feels as though it expects you to have an underlying foundation with linux - resulting in me cross, cross, and cross checking multiple wiki’s to execute a command or what have you.

Anyway - I did like the concept behind Arch and figured it would be a good way to learn a bit more of how Linux works and get acclimated to CLI. I landed on Endeavour as it takes some of the complexity out of the equation and gives a solid base to work with - I essentially stared at my screen post login figuring out the best way to install things which is already different than OS (YaST or Zypper).

Onto my questions! I tried searching the forums - but I guess i’m not typing it correctly…

1.) Is there a way to see the repos my system is using? I ask because I hear Arch Repo’s for pacman tend to have a lot of goodies but i am not sure if thats what I am using when running pacman or is it defaulting to Endeavour repos?

2.) I’ve had to leverage AUR for a few apps and I really don’t want to use it except as a last resort. I guess my alternative would be to build a package?