I3wm keybindings

I’m new to this distro and just installed it late last night. The keybindings have been troubling. A lot of the keybindings feel really clunky and spaced out and i’ve had a hard time trying to use them. I have messed with some of the keybindings but I can’t seem to figure out how to change windows to move with left mouse button and resize with right mouse button while using mod key. I can live with the windows moving without mod key but right mouse button having to be positioned over the titlebar with no other option bugs me!

Hopefully someone can help! Really enjoying the distro so far
(sorry for the duplicate)

Maybe the official documentation can help you?

https://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html#keybindings
https://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html#mousebindings

3 Likes

I have
Use Mouse+$mod to drag floating windows to their wanted position
floating_modifier $mod
set in .config/i3/config so that article just confuses me more :confused:

I may have to give up and switch to XFCE or KDE. I’d like to be able to add gaps between the windows and also snap to edges enabled as well. Seems like I don’t have enough knowledge to fix all of it to my liking :frowning:

maybe stay with " super + 1,2,3,4,5 and so on " ( super =windowskey ) until you understand more … Wm are more keyboard than mouse

The issue isn’t learning and remembering the keybindings it’s more the lack of wanting to learn them. I’ve adapted to a configuration more similar to Manjaro’s i3wm where the windows can’t be moved by mouse without Mod key, windows can be resized by grabbing ANY position in the window with Mod key. Here I have to grab the window by the top left corner assuming i want it to go top and left. Then it will keep it from going out of bounds then I can position my mouse over the titlebar so i can only resize in a way that makes it where I have to reposition my window again. It’s just feels a lot less like a window manager to me