I3wm backlight problem

Hi everyone , i’m a linux user for some years now but i’m completely new in the arch system and in the i3wm.

My machine is a lenovo x1 yoga 1st gen. I’ve just installed Eos wit the i3wm and now i’m working to customize everything i need, but i’m having an iusse with the backlight shortcut.

i’ve run from terminal the coomand xev -event keyboard to find out the “name” of the keys i need and this was the result

Then i installed xbacklight and i opened the i3 .config file and made the following keybindings
2021-02-07_10-21

if i execute xbacklight from the terminal everityng works fine and the screen brightness increase and decrease correctly but with the .config script nothing happen. I don’t understand the problem.

P.s. the system does not show any error.

I hope i was clear with the description of my problem and i also hope that this is not a dumb question.
Thank you in advace for the help, i’m really willing to learn and understand this wm.

Why are you binding both XF86WakeUp and XF86MonBrightnessUp? You only need XF86MonBrightnessUp .

You would hold function key and the brightness keys…

it would be like XF86MonBrightnessUp exec xbacklight -inc 20 - I might be wrong but this is what works for me!

Also welcome!!! :enos_flag: :enos_flag:

Enjoy your time here!

3 Likes

I put my solution here, works on lenovo thinkpad t490s, just in case (for me no need to pression Fn key):

sudo pacman -S xorg-xbacklight

then added the following to my config file

bindsym XF86MonBrightnessUp exec xbacklight -inc 10
bindsym XF86MonBrightnessDown exec xbacklight -dec 10
3 Likes

Thankyou so much, i did what you say and i wrote the binding without the function key and it works great!

:clap: :clap: :clap:

thankyou very much! You were right, i just wrote the binding without the fn key and it works great.