How to kill a process if it keeps changing its PID

Hi,

I am new to Linux and I just want to ask question on how can I effectively kill a process that keeps changing its PID after killing it.

Here’s what I did:

✗ ps aux | grep jsextension
jeepers+   12733  0.0  0.0   6500  2492 pts/4    S+   13:25   0:00 grep --color=auto jsextension
✗ kill -9 12733
kill: sending signal to 12733 failed: No such process
✗ ps aux | grep jsextension
jeepers+   12778  0.0  0.0   6500  2500 pts/4    S+   13:25   0:00 grep --color=auto jsextension

I am developer I learned a security issue regarding this process jsextension which you can read more about here.

I have tried killing it via pkill, killall but to no avail.

I am planning to reinstall EndeavourOS if there’s no other way to kill it.

Thanks for your help.

I’m no expert here, but how about chrooting into the installation and removing the source file of jsextension?

edit:

Doesn’t look like jsextension thingy is running on your system.

jeepers+   12733  0.0  0.0   6500  2492 pts/4    S+   13:25   0:00 grep --color=auto jsextension

This line shows running command as grep --color=auto jsextension, which is the process reading output from ps -aux - the command you ran. When then command has executed, the PID no longer exists, hence you aren’t able to kill it

✗ kill -9 12733
kill: sending signal to 12733 failed: No such process

Hi, thanks for responding.

So there’s no running process with the name jsextension? and the PID that keeps changing came from grep command itself?

indeed thats what I understand.

For example, if i see my terminals, this is the output

$ ps -aux | grep alacritty
snehit      7669  0.2  1.9 708060 76648 ?        Sl   11:09   0:00 alacritty
snehit      7798  9.0  1.9 707924 76576 ?        Sl   11:14   0:00 alacritty
snehit      7801  8.0  1.9 707928 76360 ?        Sl   11:14   0:00 alacritty
snehit      7866  0.0  0.0   7540  2428 pts/0    S+   11:14   0:00 grep alacritty