How to indent highlighted blocks in Kate

Earlier this year, I switched to KDE Plasma, so I am still learning Kate’s secrets.

How do I indent highlighted blocks in Kate?

On the internet, I found that Ctrl + L would add spaces while Ctrl + Shift + L would remove spaces. However, this is not working. Do I need to set something in a configfile?

In Kate I went to “Settings” then “Configure Kate…” then “Editing” where I found an “Indentation” tab. I didn’t see anything about block indentation. :man_shrugging:

Pudge

Err…unless I am missing what you are asking, you just hit the tab key.

2 Likes

Duh on my part. That works.
I was hoping to be able to indent one space at a time instead of by tab (four spaces).
But I will adjust.

Pudge

Use multi-cursors - ctrl+alt+down, then press space.

2 Likes

The third way: change to [BLOCK] select mode by pressing Ctrl+Shift+B. Then make a vertical selection spanning multiple lines at the beginning of the lines you wish to indent (quick way to do it is Home, and then Shift+ multiple times, or you can use the mouse) and press     Space    .

Also, in the settings, you can change how many spaces a tab will indent. For most programming languages, I keep it at two, instead of the default four.

The fourth way: Kate will automatically indent blocks for most programming languages. Normally, you want to indent a block when you’ve added an encompassing outer block. You can do this by simply cutting and pasting the entire outside block. All inner blocks will then automatically indent properly upon pasting (assuming this option is enabled: “Adjust indentation of code pasted from the clipboard”).

1 Like

OK the secret is Ctrl+Shift+B.

I was just selecting several lines the same as one would for a copy - paste. Just left click and drag. I guess that means nothing to Kate. But by using the magic keys what you highlight tells Kate this is more than just highlighted text, it is a block meant for Kate’s use.