How good or bad are offline updates?

I was reading this article:

Some of arguments seems to make sense, but I really don’t like to restart my computer to apply every single update and I’ve never had issues with online updates since I’ve left Windows at the end of last year, at first on Linux Mint and now on EndeavourOS for almost 4 months.

In that article, you can read:

As such, the adage that “Linux doesn’t need to restart to update” is a discredited meme. All Linux distributions should restart.

On my little experience, eventually, I’ve only had to restart some apps (like browsers) after an update that didn’t involve the kernel, that’s pretty faster than to reboot the computer to apply updates and then reboot again in order to get it working “as it should be”.

What do you think about offline updates? My guess is that Arch based distros are too much different from any other main distro and works in a different way, but, as a newbie, I could be wrong.

1 Like

This is absolutely true. There are some types of updates that require a restart to properly take effect. If you don’t know which are which, you probably should restart after receiving updates. EOS tries to notify you of updates which are likely to require a reboot but it isn’t a perfect list for every circumstance.

I think on a system where it is safe to process unattended updates, they are a good way to update your system.

Definitely, Arch updates cannot be safely run unattended. Arch updates often require manual intervention so this method is quite unsafe on Arch-based distros. That is why it is disabled upstream in software that supports it such as plasma.

4 Likes

I really like Fedoras approach. You are not forced to use it but it is very handy for normies.

3 Likes

For Fedora, outside of using say Gnome Software to run updates that require a restart, you can opt to do it manually in a “terminal centric” way as well for those that love using the terminal :wink: