How do you pronounce BTRFS?

So, how do you pronounce it, and why (if there’s any reason at all).

• Butter FS
  • Better FS
  • B-Tree FS
  • Just spell it letter by letter
  • Something else (comment below)

0 voters

1 Like

@anon49550872 I was editing the poll when you voted. Mind voting again? Sorry about this.

1 Like

SSD killer FS?

5 Likes

I pronounce it the same way I pronounce Gnome :melting_face:

7 Likes

Something something kernel 5.16.4.

1 Like

So, is that like GNU or like GIF?

Yes.

Both GNU and GIF have the same G.

4 Likes

Ext4 :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

8 Likes

Man, you should be working on that foreign accent :wink: :sweat_smile:

3 Likes

Us Brits always were crap at languages! Accents? Now that’s a whole different thing, I can do quite a few though I don’t pretend to be an impersonator by trade.

2 Likes

I just realized that you were a wordler long before Wordle became a thing :rofl:

3 Likes

I just realized there is no option for “I don’t actually speak to anyone who knows what btrfs is so I don’t have to pronounce it.”

11 Likes

WannabeZFS-FS?

:butter::crossed_fingers::man_facepalming:

4 Likes

I know you’re being funny, but do you seriously not have any pronunciation in your head while reading?

Interestingly, I read it “b-t-r-f-s” but I say it “butter fs”

bad transport route for system

In any case I align with

I recently started to pronounce it ButterFS because I love the band We Butter The Bread With Butter (WBTBWB). :wink:
Before that I used to call it B T R F S.

I tend to think of it the same I tend to spell it:
t-r-o-u-b-l-e.

Not sure how that’s pronounced! :grin:

2 Likes