How do you become a distro maintainer/developer and create your own distro or contribute to existing ones?

Greetings fellow humans, human fellas.

With the prospect of college coming, I have been dreaming of big dreams and ambitions.

For now, I’m simply using a variety of Linux distributions for daily tasks(currently on EOS and Fedora), and I’m studying Python and slowly working my way to c, rust, etc.

There are many resources on how to develop software FOR Linux or for the Kernel itself. I want to become a distro maintainer and developer for existing distros or for my own one, which I assume is a bit different from the two above.

Sadly, there does not seem to be much information about becoming a maintainer/developer. I’m not sure where to start. From my experience, I learn quicker when I know what steps I should take, and right now, I might as well be shooting myself in the dark.

If there is any advice you guys can give me, I would greatly appreciate it.

1 Like

I hate to do this to you, but

http://slash7.com/2006/12/22/vampires/

“How to become a distro maintainer” is a big question and not one that is easy to answer. It normally starts with wanting to understand how the distro is put together, testing packages, maintaining packages, then developing your own particular vision and deciding whether to derive your packages from an existing distro, or bootstrap everything from scratch.

4 Likes

A hit to reality is really all I need. I just need something to work on. Or an indication to know that I’m doing something. After that, I can start branching out.

So for now, I’ll keep on with software engineering, some business, and design courses here and there, and just going ham on the individual packages(DE, GNU, Bootloader, PulseAudio etc) that make up a full Linux distro.

If you want something more specific to have a go at, have a look down the AUR out-of-date orphan list and see if there’s one you like the look of: