How do I restore a backup created with borgmatic?

I backed up my system with borgmatic, I excluded the directory

/home /dev /proc /sys /tmp /run/media /lost+found

what tool or method should I use to do a system level restore.

:warning: Disclaimer: I don’t use Borgmatic, so… :wink:

In addition to the link above, which documentation did you read before running the backup? Does that documentation not also include information about how to restore from the backup?

I’ve read the official maticborg documentation, but I can’t understand some of it. Also I have read the rsync related information and so far I have not succeeded in restoring the backup.

Are you booting off something else to do the restore?

No, I recovered directly from within the system

I’m a newbie and I’m trying different recovery software to find the right one for me, currently I’m considering borg and snapper for this and I’m getting familiar with using them.

I don’t think that is possible. It probably isn’t able to overwrite all the data of the running system.

Yes, I think so, recovering from outside the system, I use Clonezilla and it works very well. I need a software for internal system recovery now, I’m currently trying borg and may try snapper later

borg is data backup software. While you can certainly use it to recover an entire system it isn’t going to be “push-button simple”. However, it does have a bunch of other features useful for data backup like encryption and deduplication.

snapper is used for taking snapshots of btrfs subvolumes and/or lvm volumes but it stores those snapshots on the same device so it won’t help if the device fails.(Unless you replicate the snapshots elsewhere.)

Are you sure that exists? With snapper you could boot off a different snapshot and then overwrite the original root but you can’t just restore the original system in-place.