How close are you to IT?

There are many members of our community. Who has a relationship with IT and what is it like? Are you an expert or just a hobbyist with Linux, or just a user? For example, because of my former workplace, I spent many years learning to use Linux, which is completely different from Windows. I don’t consider myself an expert in many respects, but I’m not a beginner either, rather I have average, sometimes advanced knowledge.

3 Likes

I have held a lot of positions related to Unix or Linux for many years. I have more or less gone back and forth between IT, security and software development for most of my career. It was my time spent learning Linux on my own that allowed me to easily transition to a Unix admin in the mid-90s.

6 Likes

This.
With a Linux knowledge which can at best be likened a Swiss :cheese:.

5 Likes

I have been worked with computers as a pure user for a little over 25 years. Partly earlier in jobs, but mainly privately as a hobby. Until about 6 years ago only Windows, since then only Linux. I never programmed, because I always thought that others could do it better anyway. I have the greatest respect for these people, but it won’t get into my old head anymore. In my private environment I am something like the family admin.

4 Likes

Very close, but in the rearview mirror! It would be fair to call my acquired knowledge somewhat outdated these days (apart from a certain familiarity with EnOS, of course). How much demand do you expect to see for tuning Netware systems? How about ‘on-the-fly’ dBase5 programs? VisualBasic6 integration with SQLServer for data input? You get the idea I’m sure…

Not sure how far bash/YAD and conky scripting will take me now either…

3 Likes

I fell in love with 'puters in the early 90s. Being a social worker, I self-tutored on office work beginning on an IBM 186’er with a proprietary IBM-DOS and typewheel-printer.