Hello from the tussocks

Hello everyone :wave:

I’ve been lurking here for a while :eyes: and have finally made the switch to :enos: after testing in a virtual machine for a week.

I’ve been using Linux as my main OS since 2009, and have long preferred to do installation & updates from the command line. I’ve used another Arch derivative in the past (M******) and was recently using openSUSE Tumbleweed, so an intermediate rolling terminal centric distro is right up my :penguin: street.

Very impressed with the distro - customising the installation is very easy, the :enos: repo and various tweaks adds useful tools and functionality to Arch while still being close to barebones :rocket:

Using KDE Plasma as my DE. FWIW I ended up swapping out firewalld for ufw, as ufw is easier to control with plasma-firewall.

Lots of useful advice in the forum :smiley: I may need some help when it comes to pacnew/pacsave files :anguished: I was up to the task of deleting /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist.pacnew, but I know I will be perplexed by others.

7 Likes

Hello @r0ckhopper,

welcome to the EnOS universe :milky_way:

2 Likes

Welcome to EnOS community @r0ckhopper!

Personally, I have never bothered with this one. You could always customize your mirrorlist from the Welcome app or by launching reflector-simple directly.

Also there is: reflector if you want to do it from a terminal.

Have a nice journey onboard Endeavour!
:enos:

2 Likes

Welcome to our great community!

2 Likes

I followed the advice in this thread and it seemed like a good way to practice with pacdiff, as it was the only pacnew file created during installation (at least for me).

Yes, I’ve enabled reflector.timer.

1 Like

Whoops, that post was supposed to be a reply to @pebcak

1 Like

Welcome to the purple side @r0ckhopper !! :enos: :enos_flag:

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum @r0ckhopper :tada::balloon:

2 Likes