GTX 1060 Wayland Issues

Hello everyone,

I recently installed EndeavourOS and after updating everything, I proceeded to install the Nvidia driver using nvidia-inst for my Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060. However, I encountered issues with Wayland—it resulted in the infamous black screen with a cursor. Even on X11, there’s noticeable lag when opening or closing windows and interacting with the system in general.

Over the past two weeks, I’ve been experimenting with various distributions because I’m still very new to Linux. Along this journey, I found that on certain distributions, such as Debian, the best approach for running this GPU smoothly is to manually install proprietary drivers and blacklist nouveau drivers, which worked flawlessly on Debian.

I stumbled upon this blog post where a moderator named @ricklinux , who also uses the same GPU, mentioned running Wayland without issues with the 550 drivers. I’m quite curious—how was this achieved?

my system info

I would greatly appreciate any advice or insights from the community on this matter. Thanks!

Wayland issues aren’t so strange, nvidia isn’t generally well supported on it, hell you can’t even run some compositors without special flags on nvidia (lookin at sway…). If someone managed to run a wayland compositor well on nvidia, then you can only really expect similar results if you’re using the same compositor as they are. And possibly the same settings too.

X11 issues are ab it odd, but not very, it could be a simple configuration issue, might need to set something in /etc/xorg.conf.d to fix it.

My system is installed directly using a live usb of endeavouros with the nvidia option. I am using Kde Plasma with GTX 1060 on Wayland. One difference i see is you are using the lts kernel which i am not and never do. Also your motherboard is a bit older. Have you checked to see if there are any Bios updates for the board?

Type: Desktop Mobo: Acer model: Predator G3610 serial: <superuser required>