Greetings to Endeavour People :)

I’m pretty new to desktop Linux.
Therefore I’m exploring which distributive (or distributives) will be most convenient for me.

So far I didn’t try Arch or Arch-based distributives.
On this week I found information about EndeavourOS in the distrowatch. Then I read a little info in the EndeavourOS site and this forum.
I’m thinking about trying to install and see how it will work on my PC.

Am I correct, that I should start from reading Arch documentation https://wiki.archlinux.org/ ?

2 Likes

First,
welcome
Second, never a bad idea reading the arch linux wiki. But if you click the endeavour link abouve there is another link to the endeavouros wiki which is also very comprehensive and suggested reading :grinning:

1 Like

Yes, I know about Endeavour Wiki https://endeavouros.com/wiki/, but it seemed to me that it describes things specific to EndeavourOS, while most basic things (for example, pacman options etc.) are described in Arch docs.

Welcome @Izuchayu_Linux to EndeavourOss.
To install EndeavourOS you will have more info here in wiki and forum then using a based Arch you will learn about it little by little, we all continue to learn on Arch…

Welcome :slight_smile: I’m rather new here too and also learning Arch (and linux in general) while using EOS and so far it’s been a very good experience.

EOS wiki is more beginner-friendly, but yes, Arch documentation is very complete and rich and (almost) everything there must be applicable to Endeavour, because it’s so close to Arch linux.

And there is an article about pacman basic commands in the EndeavourOS wiki and more :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi, welcome on the forum.
The wiki isn’t specific on Endeavour since the extra’s we ship are really small. The difference between the Arch wiki and ours is that the basic articles cover every step, while the Arch wiki links back in an article to complete the info.

Hi, welcome on the forum @Izuchayu_Linux