Greetings Programs

I’m Gemma a new EndeavourOS user. I’ve been using Linux for many years, since 2005ish I think SuSE 7 maybe. I mainly use Fedora these days, For this little laptop I thought I’d choose something different. I am pretty competent in apt and dnf and feel its time I learned pacman and maybe yay. As a Manjaro user I was dependent upon pamac and discover. Not this time I am here to learn skills for my linux future.

I installed EOS in offline mode as the online installer was failing. This was a great start as I was then able to boot into XFCE and install gnome from there, now in gnome I am home and have installed everything I need here.

11 Likes

welcome aboard :enos:

Welcome to the purple side! I’m also a Gnome user here as well :enos:

Since you’re familiar with apt and dnf commands, using pacman won’t be terribly different to learn, that knowledge you already have will only benefit you now. yay is installed on EndeavourOS by default so you can use pacman OR yay for most operations here. Just know…

pacman is the package manager from Arch. It can only install packages from the Arch repos.
yay is an AUR Helper & pacman wrapper that can install packages from the Arch repos or AUR.

One of the best resources to get your started on pacman is the Rosetta wiki, a collection of common commands and their counterparts between some of the most used package mangers. Hope it helps!

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Pacman/Rosetta

3 Likes

Welcome :partying_face:

Welcome to the community :beers:

Welcome to the forum @gemmakaru :enos_flag: :enos: :partying_face:

Thanks for the advice @Scotty_Trees . Hi Everyone.

Welcome! :enos_flag:

I guess I’ve cheated a bit installing a few apps through flatpaks. I’m finding app discovery harder at the command line, luckily I already (mostly) know what I am looking for so its not a big deal.

Who thinks its worth while giving KDE another shot on this machine?

Welcome here! :smile: