Gnome Software use?

I am new to both Arch and Endeavour. I installed on a Pinebook Pro. I am a Debian user and it was more complex than I am use to. I am a software users and pay little attention to the OS, just expecting it to work. It appears that it does run well. Thanks for creating it.

Gnome Software did not show any applications when I first ran it. I installed flatpak and it does show flatpac application and installs them alright.

Is there a gui for software in Endeavour similar to say Synaptic? For instance I need to install gscan2pdf. That requires an OCR backend and some dictionaries, whose names I do not know, leaving me unsure how to get it installed with pacman. Any help would be appreciated and again thanks for a nice stable system installed to an nvme drive on the Pinebook Pro.

Welcome!!

Using the terminal, type:

yay archlinux-appstream-data-pamac pamac-all

Then after it has installed you can go to your menu, type pamac, and you will see Add or Remove Software. This is the pamac interface, and helps you to find software as Synaptic does.

NB: Pamac is primarily a Manjaro project, and every so often it breaks, as it updates at a lesser speed than Archlinux (where EndeavourOS is coming from), so just beware it may fail for a time, as it did earlier this year.

tkpacman looks pretty close but is tk kinda old design :stuck_out_tongue:

interesting question - if you “just expecting it to work” - what made you want to leave behind Debian? That’s arguably the best reason to use it there is.

Sort of. As stated above - pamac-all is your best bet. I would still avoid it. Just search packages from archlinux.org/packages and aur.archlinux.org/packages and then install them via terminal. I like searching the website more than terminal personally, BUT if you prefer, you can search applications with pacman -Ss packagename or yay -Ss packagename to search AUR also.