Firewalld client share in firewall

hello, hopefully it works with my nearly perfect english :upside_down_face:

i have firewalld running on my pc and would like to enable my linuxbox for satellite tv.

PC 192.168.178.22
Linuxbox 192.168.178.21

how can i share my linuxbox with ip address in the firewalld?
i always had ufw/gufw running. But since my reinstallation I stay with firewalld.

the background is: i have my pc running as nfs server and want to access the nfs directories with my linuxbox. The linuxbox ‘sees’ the PC but I can not open the nfs directories. with the ufw it was relatively simple to share the complete ip address, with firewalld I have no experience
sharing as nfs or nfs3 default does not work. on inquiry in the forum of the linuxbox one said to me, release the box in the firewall. as said, works with ufw perfectly. i have as said no experience with firewalld. i just don’t know how to set an ip4 rule

1 Like

You can check the box for NFS in firewalld to open the ports used by NFS. More detailed instructions are in the wiki:
https://discovery.endeavouros.com/applications/firewalld/2022/03/

i had these ports open. this does not work. so my question is how to share an ip address

Did you take a look here?
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/NFS#Firewall_configuration

:point_up: edited!

If opening NFS doesn’t work, something is wrong. You don’t need to also add the IP,

I have created the nfs server according to exactly these instructions.
as soon as I turn off firewalld I also have access to the directories

i have not read this…shame on me.

I will get back to you :laughing:

You definitely don’t want to do that if you are running firewalld. That is if you are using raw iptables.

Yes, but the service (protocol) and ports can be allowed/disallowed in firewalld all the same. No?

Edit:
Silly me, I thought firewalld was using iptables! So wrong!

nftables are being used, instead!