Ext4, btrfs, or other, what difference and which is the best file system?

Hello all friends.

I would like to know which is the best file system (I think it is called that).

EOS comes with ext4 by default, but I’ve read on some occasions that btrfs is better because it’s newer and brings new technology or something like that.

But I’ve also heard that there are people who get slow write-read problems from btrfs or something like that.

So, I would like to know if there is one better than another or one that stands out above.

I’m new to the Linux world and don’t know much about it, usually I’ve seen ext4 on Ubuntu and btrfs on Fedora.

Thanks in advance.

3 Likes

Not really. If there was a best filesystem, everyone would use it.

If you aren’t sure, use ext4. It is simple and well supported by everything.

btrfs has many advanced features, but if you aren’t going to use them, you are adding complexity for no real purpose.

10 Likes

Just what I wanted to know, so I’ll stick with ext4!

Thanks again Mr. Dalto!

4 Likes

As so often, it also depends on what you want to do with your system. If you want to take regular snapshots of your system partition for later recovery, Btrfs would be a good option (using Snapper). However, this also works with ext4 and Timeshift (via rsnc). For a novice, however, Btrfs is in my opinion a bit too complex. I only get along with it because I have already asked @dalto so many holes in the belly.

2 Likes

ext4 is the Toyota Camry. It just works forever with minimal oversight.

I would suggest it until you find some reason you want to use something else.

5 Likes

As always, what is best for you depends on what you need or want.

I’m also in the ext4 camp. I use it almost exclusively. While it is far from being the best file system for every possible use case, I think it is good for most use cases and the best many use cases. It is a very solid default option.