Does endeavourOS use the latest versions of the software packages?

Hi.

First of all, thank you for this wonderful project!

I am just getting started with it and my only question is about the software packages - are they the latest version (bleeding edge), closest to the Arch model?

If not, is there an average time that passes form the day a new version of a software is available to it being released in the repositories that you use?

Thank you very much in advance for your help :slight_smile:

Well - they roll with Arch so yes. I have laptops with Arch and Endeavour and the updates are available at the same time

2 Likes

EOS uses Arch repos directly, so packages are as new as Arch has.

And welcome aboard!

1 Like

Thank you all for the warn welcome!

I tried to test endeavouros on a virtual machine but it turns out that my current configuration conflicts with VirtualBox so i couldn’t test the OS.

If the image is hybrid (both live mode and installation mode) I will try to put the image onto a USB drive. Will reckon that either Rufus or Etcher will do the job just fine.

Thanks again to you all for your help!

Let me guess! The virtual graphics controller:wink:

Hi.

I wish it was that :slight_smile:
What i think happens is that there is a conflict between VirtualBox and Windows 10 itself that prevents me from configuring virtual machines in the first place.

It should have something to do with Hyper-V or Windows Sandbox… Even though i tried disabling these features, the virtual machine won’t start.

I can try installing endeavourOS on an external drive and hope that i won’t break the system soon because i won’t be having the snapshot feature to help me :smile:

However the bleeding edge repos combined with the welcoming GUI and light system resource usage convinced me to try it.

I am not that an advanced of the Linux command line, but the fact that endeavourOS is so customizable really had me want to try it.