CPU Fan doesn't STOP at idle

Hi
I am running EndevourOs (i3wm) on an MSI Modern 14 B4MW laptop (R5 4500u).
In windows, when doing basic stuff (browsing etc) the CPU fan completely stops spinning but the same refuse to happen on Linux i.e. it does ramp up and down just fine, but the zero rpm mode doesn’t engage ever. I am a complete noob to Linux this is my first time here.
I have tried lm_sensors but it doesn’t detect anything, nbfc does not have any configs for me either. I would’ve tried other solutions (this) but I really don’t want to fry my machine so I came here.

Also, I noticed the bottom bar on my i3 displays a temperature reading next to the battery and wifi so I guess it is not entirely unreasonable to hope for something.

Is it possible that the CPU is too warm for that to happen?

On Windows the fan kicks in at 45°C on CPU or 38°C on the skin (whichever comes first).
The reading on i3 is always in the low 30s and the body is cold to touch, moreover the exhaust air is cool (basically room temp).

1 Like

Usually fan setting are set in the BIOS.
Especially new bios, you usually have a chart with rpm related to temp in the bios that you can set to whatever you like.

I thought this looked familiar…

Does the same thing happen on Garuda? Or did you switch the install to EnOS?

That is usually the case but we are dealing with a laptop with a severely limited BIOS. I didn’t find anything like performance profile or fan curve or anything really

Yes that’s me​:joy:
And yes the fan thing is consistent across all Linux distributions.
I switched from Garuda(i3) because I’ve had several things work out of the box with EnOs(i3)

1 Like